Select Page

Nurturing – A Secret Family Code

The Nature of Nurturing

All parents wish for a way to discipline in public, to avoid lecturing and battles of wills with children. The ValuesParenting secret animal code can help us accomplish both, and kids love it! The secret code is also a way to focus our attention as parents on nine elements of true “nurturing” of our precious children.

As our professional lives develop and our management and organizational skills expand, do we make equal progress in our ability to nurture? Nurturing is perhaps the most important aptitude of parents and an essential capacity in any relationship.

There are 9 primary qualities or ingredients in a person’s ability to nurture, and each of them can be well represented by a symbol from nature. (i.e. Geese represent commitment, Humpback whales symbolize communication, and the Elephant’s trunk is a metaphor for affective discipline.) Together, the 9 symbols or images establish in a parent’s mind an image of committed and loving relationships that will make us better parents, better partners and better friends as well as networkers and professionals.

Additionally, the 9 nurturing metaphors can provide a new and effective “language of symbols” that make family interaction more effective and pleasant. Instead of saying “quit interrupting” or “let’s communicate better: a parent can say “let’s be more like those humpback whales.”

New York Times #1 best selling authors, Richard and Linda Eyre, who have spent a lifetime advising parents, strengthening homes and championing families, have recently turned their writing and lecturing focus to this all important quality called nurturing. Their McGraw Hill Book, The Book of Nurturing, and their lectures and presentations entitled “The Nature of Nurturing” establish in parent’s minds an image of committed and loving relationships that will make us better parents, better partners, and better friends as well as better networkers and professionals.

Here at ValuesParenting, we are pleased to present the “nature fables” that the Eyres use to introduce readers to the nine nurturing principles outlined in the book.

Check out the 3 nurturing principles by clicking on the links to the right, and gain access to the other 6 by becoming a VP Premium member.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This